Review: The Director’s Club cinema, SM Aura

SM Aura

 

  • P350 gets you one free tumbler of popcorn. No refills, no drink. Even for SM, it’s cheap of them. (And in any case, this is the much-hallowed SM Aura.)
  • I have to hand it to their service staff though–even if I didn’t ask for popcorn, they brought me one before the start of the screening.
  • If you’re alone get an aisle seat; if a couple, get the center seats.
  • The side table has a button so you may call on the staff in case you need anything.
  • I liked the lazy boy even if at 6’1, my feet were dangling outside the foot rest. I liked the inclination and how I sunk into the chair.
  • Unfortunately, for those with less than average height (5’3″ and below), they had to sit up straight so they can get a good view of the screen. Note that in the photo, the floor is not that steeply inclined.
  • Also, it’s so easy to trip over the steps (given their little height difference) if you’re not too careful.
  • It’s an intimate cinema—there are two other front rows cropped out of this photo—which is great if the other movie goers observe proper cinema etiquette.

I’ve only tried one other premium theater, Eastwood’s Ultra 7 cinema. That one had free-flowing popcorn and soda, though I can’t remember for what price. However, comparing the seats, I prefer Aura’s, which adjusts to my preference more than Eastwood’s.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Director’s Club cinema, SM Aura

  1. Hi! I was just wondering.. do we need to reserve tickets few days before watching at the Director’s Club or is it okay if we buy tickets the same day we’re gonna watch? Hope you reply please and thank you so much. í ½ðŸ˜ŠðŸ˜ŠðŸ˜ŠðŸ˜ŠðŸ˜ŠðŸ˜ŠðŸ˜ŠðŸ˜Ší ½

    Like

  2. I was pretty excited to go to the directors club at SM Aura. I have to say I was a little let down.
    They didn’t give the popcorn until 10-15 minutes into the movie. And the popcorn is just salted, no choice of cheese, bbq etc.
    The fan of the projector is very loud and distracting.
    The screen has damage at the top right and bottom left which is distracting on light scenes.
    If you recline your chair , the top of the chair in front blocks your view, since all chairs are on the same level.
    The movie was at 10:15PM. I went to the snack bar at 9:55PM and they’d already closed it down. I couldn’t even get a drink.
    I was hoping that because it’s the “directors club” it would be hardcore movie goers, but there was still a guy sitting there on his phone with an annoying bright screen for the whole movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

