Hopeless

I don’t know how other people are able to keep fighting for this country when 22 years after EDSA, we are still confronted by the same issues: poverty, unemployment, poor education, corruption in the government, among others.

Nothing’s changed.

I remember back in high school, I competed among junior and senior students for an essay-writing contest on the subject of freedom. I won that contest due in large part to Emilio Jacinto and his thesis, which I took inspiration from:

“There are instances when Liberty is smothered by error, by the kind worship of ancient bad practices and laws suggested by crafty hench men.”

– Emilio Jacinto, Light and Darkness

I argued that we are never truly free; not until we rid the government of corrupt politicians (I did not discuss religion; I studied in a Catholic school and I did want to win the contest after all, lol).

I wrote the essay as a wide-eyed and relatively optimistic teenager in 1996.

Nothing’s changed.

I don’t want to comment on politics any longer, most especially on Arroyo. I figured, what’s the point? We’ve hurled all that we can on The Devil’s Spawn and yet, she has had the gall to file her candidacy for Congress. We’ve vented our frustration, anger and grief for the victims of the Maguindanao massacre and yet, more than a week after the incident, only one person is in prison for a crime committed by more than 100 hundred men. I couldn’t help feeling incredulous and asking myself if Mindanao is the new Cambodia circa Pol Pot’s regime. But the pressing question seems to be, “What’s the point?”

I can’t even blame the government anymore. Although The Devil’s Spawn does hold a huge share in the list of reasons why this country is going down, I also can’t help but think that this country voted for Bong Revilla and Lito Lapid in the Senate, plus a slew of corrupt representatives in Congress.

Hence, I see 2010 as a turning point for this country. If nothing changes, I’d rather migrate to another country; I can’t keep hoping and waiting for another 6 years.

One thought on “Hopeless

  1. auee says:

    she's running for congress??ang kapal talaga…I don't blame you for wanting to get out. It's sad though if everyone, esp those who can effect a change, will do the same. I know it's easier said than done esp coming from someone who's a dual citizen. Sana nga may mabago. How can we make sure 2010 is a success? Who will guard our rights and make sure we become free?

    Like

Leave a Reply

