Beach, love and money

While the Devil’s Spawn announced a National Day of Mourning, or three days after the entire country actually began grieving, Mon and I headed to Boracay to attend a wedding and spend a week of R&R.

I am in Boracay annually but I am never prepared for the huge changes the island goes through every time I visit. It now has Starbucks, Shakey’s, Yellow Cab, Havaianas and Crocs (among others) lining up the coastline. There are major construction of buildings and resorts by its very narrow highway — Astoria’s was the only one that I managed to get the name of. It made me wonder how hotels expect respectable occupancy rates during the leaner months when there’s an abundance of supply but very little demand. Also, I wish that it is the Caticlan airport that is undergoing expansion so it may accommodate more airlines.

We stayed at Island Nook, which is a few feet away from D’ Mall (highway side). The rate was P1,500 per room and that includes breakfast.

This is where breakfast is served. Those doors are the rooms. We stayed on the second level.

Breakfast is ala carte and limited to variations of “log“: tapsilog, cornsilog, hotsilog and bangsilog. They’re practically expletives, lol.

The room has a huge flat-screen LCD TV but no closet and mini-ref. (I don’t get the logic behind this.) Design and furniture are very minimalist so there are no aesthetic concerns for me to speak of. The room has no view so we kept the curtains drawn during our entire stay.

When you open the door… tadaaa!!! The room was smaller than they appear on some of the hotel pictures I saw. At the foot of the bed are the flat-screen, wall-mounted LCD TV and a slab of wood as stand for your belongings. The air conditioner takes time to cool the room, about 8 hours.

I took this photo by the bed. That’s the main door on the left and the toilet on the right. Toilet has a shower head with heater. No tub, but there’s bidet, hurrah!

Staff service requires patience (and I don’t think they are available from 8 p.m. onwards); nevertheless, they are friendly and pleasant to deal with. If you’re on a budget, this is the perfect accommodation for you, though personally, I think I’ll go back to booking beachfront resorts for my future visits. I want to wake up to a stunning view, my partner excluded πŸ˜›

The wedding was held at Seawind resort and I must say, it had a fantastic setup. I’d categorize it as “casual rich.”

Side view of the altar; behind it is the perennial stunner, Boracay sunset.

From the altar to the reception, guests passed through a gallery-like setup featuring the couple’s pre-nuptial photos.

It was beautiful and doesn’t compare to those I’ve previously attended (oops, sorry!) or those I’ve glimpsed at as a nosy outsider.

The reception tent.
I love how it was well-lit; bright lights but not harsh: everyone exuded a soft, warm glow. (Since I’ve a poor eyesight, restaurants that aren’t well-lit are one of my pet peeves.)

View from outside the tent. Guests understandably had impromptu photo shoots, myself and our party included.

The VIP table; behind, some tables offered a more relaxed vibe.

The gorgeous bride said the resort took care of the details. Here she is walking down the aisle.

The gown was all white and featured silver embroidery, which my lowly camera didn’t manage to catch.

Cute kid! This was the color motif of the gentlemen.

The invitation said attire is “formal resort wear” which I found to be contradicting so I decided not to stress over it; I picked colors which I knew would pop out in a sea of white, brown and off-white linen (read: guests).

From the impromptu photo shoot, lol: Linen top and sneakers (*gasp* at a wedding!), Zara. Cotton pants, Gap.

True enough, I was the only one in purple, blue and red, lol. Ooh, and it was funny that I arrived at the site via tricycle. Parang barrio lang!

Another guest, who was Dutch, was in a collared shirt and cargo shorts. The bride recounted that he was bewildered to see the other guests in their fine linen, pinya and jusi. “I thought this was a beach wedding?” she remembered him exclaiming. Pardonable na wala syang ka-concept-concept ng beach wedding. Baka wala nun sa Netherlands.

At the reception, while performers serenaded the couple with a song, Starlight, a 10-minute fireworks commenced. “Ang yaman! May visual aid pa talaga ang song at on cue talaga ha!” I said. Turned out the fireworks were for another event at a different resort.

For the final performance, two trannies came out gyrating and contorting their bodies in outrageous ways. As if those weren’t enough for a spectacle, they also swung fire. At one point, one of the dancers slashed a line across the sand, which instantly burned in flames.

Heart-stopping production number!

I thought it was a perfect metaphor for love and for the money spent.

Love, no money.

2 thoughts on “Beach, love and money

  1. auee says:

    IMHO, this is your funniest post ever! Ang hirap magpigil nang hagikgik dito sa opis… Numero uno – basahin ko ito uli bukas – para gumanda naman araw ko dito kahit madilim-malamig-mainit ang ulo nang mga katrabaho.

    Like

Leave a Reply

