Lorin’s commencement speech: The Aftermath

Dear Father Benz
Greetings!
I have been told last night that portions of my graduation remarks – in particular my address to the Schools of Humanities and Social Sciences – had been borrowed from certain other authors whose works have been published. For this, I wish to express my sincerest apology to you, the University and to the 2010 graduating class.
I have had some help in the drafting of my remarks, but I take full and sole responsibility for them.
I am told further that comments posted on Facebook have started to spill beyond graduation, and are now alluding to my misconduct with respect to my crying at the Senate, partnering with Money Villar, claim of being an Antique native, alluring and beguiling smile in my TV ads, and so forth. 
Fr Benz, this has been a source of deep personal embarrassment for me. 
I am truly regretful for it. It gives me a lot of personal discomfort to continue to be closely involved with Arneyow affairs after this incident. I am afraid the damage has been done – wala talaga akong mukhang ihaharap pagkatapos.
With much regret, Fr Benz, I would wish to retire from my official duties at the Arneyow.
With all good wishes to you and to our graduates.
L. L. G.
Dear Lorin,
I received your apology just a few minutes ago and feel how deeply embarrassed and pained you are by this event. We realize that this was a mistake and we respect and appreciate your taking responsibility and your immediate apology.
At the same time, we know that this happened without your full awareness, though you take full and sole responsibility.  However, may I clarify that you never have and never will be offered official duties at The Arneyow. Ambisosya ka.
May the Risen Christ be Light to you.
Fr. Benz, S.J.

OHMYGAD. Noooooo!!! This canโ€™t be! But the speech I wrote for Lorin was like, totally original! Iโ€™ll upload it later, you be the judge!

Leave a Reply

