Stooges

From ‘immoral’ to ‘abnormal’
by Danton Remoto
ABS-CBN News Online
April 12, 2010

Six months, in 21st-century Philippines, Ang Ladlad and I were called “immoral” by the Second Division of the Commission on Elections. Last week, we were called “abnormal’ by a Catholic bishop.

The second division of the Comelec is composed of Commissioner Nicodemo Ferrer, an Extraordinary Eucharistic Minister of the Church in Binmaley, Pangasinan; Commissioner Lucenito Tagle, Director of the Christian Family Movement in Cubao; and Commissioner Elias Yusoph, a Muslim imam. Nothing wrong with that, of course, but these three gentlemen should have inhibited themselves from discussing the merits of Ang Ladlad’s accreditation because they would be biased parties in the case at hand. Instead, they rushed headlong into it, with the singleness of purpose of a typhoon bearing down on a small island. During the hearing which I attended with my laywer, Atty. Nick Pichay, I would be asked brilliant questions like this.

Commissioner Yusuph: How shall I address you, Miss or Madame?

Danton Remoto: You may call me Professor Danton Remoto, or Mr. Danton Remoto.

Commissioner Ferrer: I think you are already over-represented in Congress. Tell me who are the gays in Congress! And the gays in Senate, tell me who he is!

Danton Remoto: Your Honor, Imee Marcos said that there are only 13 gay people in the Congress when she was there, but she claimed she’s the only one who is out of the closet there. As for the gay senator, I am not aware of his identity. If you are, Your Honor, maybe you can shed light on the issue?

I wish this conversation is part of my Lorin LaGuadia series but I’m afraid this is non-fiction.

Read the rest of the article here.

One thought on “Stooges

Leave a Reply

