Gising

So. Earlier, I was looking at hotels in Hong Kong because I was trying to decide if I should spend my birthday week there. (By the way, I use http://www.agoda.com for hotel booking transactions because I find the deals generally good; if you know a better site, please do share :-D)

As I was browsing through the roster, I stumbled on The Peninsula in Hong Kong, which of course, is a beautiful hotel with a lot of history as the Kowloon property is also The Peninsula’s flagship hotel. Of course, as its crown jewel, accommodation doesn’t come cheap: a room costs P20,000++ a night, at the least.

http://www.peninsula.com

I clicked on the hotel as I fantasized how grandiose it would be to stay there. I entered pretend-dates to see how much an entire week of stay would amount to. It didn’t show the total amount, but instead, it asked for my credit card details, which I duly entered. I was thinking, it would ask me for a final confirmation before the transaction is finalized.

I clicked enter. The next page sent shivers down my spine; pinagpawisan ako ng ice water ng bonggang bongga:

Dear XXX Jason XXX, your booking with Agoda is confirmed and complete. The hotel voucher was sent to your e-mail address. You must present it to the hotel at check-in. 

Ay pota. Downpayment ng sasakyan!!! LOL!

I scrambled to cancel my booking (which *I think* I successfully did; otherwise, you’d find me sipping afternoon tea at The Pen and then proceeding to Wan Chai at night for work, lol), albeit, I was charged US$15 for the cancellation. While I hated to see how the amount just vanished into thin air, I’m just grateful Agoda had a cancellation policy for this particular transaction. (Some don’t, especially for promos, similar to those Cebu Pacific low-fare promos.)

Anyway, what a way to rouse me back to reality πŸ˜›

10 thoughts on “Gising

  1. Deepa says:

    Hahaha! I'm sure it was an Erlinda Ligot moment, a.k.a. sudden and debilitating altapresyon. I find Agoda better for Asian hotels. Got really good deals on Singapore, Manila and Cebu hotels. Here in Europe I seem to get better deals on Booking.com.

    Like

  2. Shan Abellaneda says:

    haha. i also booked thru agoda awhile ago and also thought there was going to be a confirmation page. di maganda user experience nung site nila. though buti nga they allow cancellation.u can also try asisatravel.com, asiarooms.com or hotels.com… yan lang usually sites that i go to for hotel bookings πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Mona says:

    i stayed there overnight en route to vietnam on a business trip. the hotel (and the whole town!) was fully booked for a medical conference, so only choice was to get a suite. omg! a tv screen was embedded in the mirror! if you turn it off, mirror lang siya. sobrang aliw!

    Like

Leave a Reply

