The Hunger Games

I haven’t read the book (in fact, I didn’t know anything about The Hunger Games until an hour before the screening when Tatin thankfully filled me in on the plot), so I can say that my opinion about the movie is tempered and has not been influenced by hype.

It’s pretty good, and I give it a rating of 9/10. (The -1 point is because no one was shirtless in the film.)

If like me, you lived under a rock and somehow trudged along 2011 not knowing anything about the story, it is set in a dystopian state, controlled by the Capitol, where its citizens dress as if Sofia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette was modest. Outside it are 12 districts which are forced to send one male and one female to the Hunger Games, an annual, fight-to-the-death reality show.

I like the sinister way the Capitol, which explodes in pink and laces and ruffles and Karl Lagerfeld lookalikes, is presented. I love how dedma they are to the plight of the starving citizens, the absurdity of how one would dress so glamorously while picking out names of those she is theoretically sending to their death. I love Lenny Kravitz and his gold eyelids. I like how the guys from the poorer districts look like they’re Abercrombie & Fitch models, although they’re quite jarring to see for the overanalyzing or at most, the thinking viewer. I like how human nature is presented at the Games: there really are assholes and bitches who would not think twice about screwing you if it is to their benefit as there are nice ones who would naively help out their competitors.

Going over the movie through my head, I may not have been wowed by a complex or challenging plot or nerve-wracking hooks and nail-biters but I liked its perfect simplicity and styling.


 

4 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. Katrina says:

    Wah!! I want to watch! My sister lent me the books and wow, they're super addictive. Read the whole trilogy in a week. It's geared towards a younger audience so merong bits na a little cheesy, but surprisingly complex ang concepts and plot niya – there's shades of "1984" and "The Handmaid's Tale." Medyo kainis nga people on FB who compare this to Twilight — yes it's tween-targeted but they should give it a chance!! #affectedmasyado

    Like

  2. Jason says:

    Lol!!! Btw, kinilig ako sa mga cheesy moments, with matching gasp pa, haha!My friends are raving about the books nga. Dami pa daw subplots na wala sa film.

    Like

  3. ego says:

    Hola, Jason. Good to walking on ur blog :)Last nite i saw Hunger Games without knowing any part of the story of it. All i know is the happening red carpet premiere on E!Online. Well, in fact, i was surprised. The story is quit ok, but the way Capitol citizen dress up is way more fun to see 🙂 It is very hi-couture which i never expected before. It is worth-watching anyway 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

