My new arsenal: sunscreen and moisturizers are my must-haves

While my previous regimen of Pond’s facial wash and cream worked (I eventually stopped using benzoyl peroxide), it didn’t completely clear my skin. I’d still get the occasional big pimple. (Though to its credit, I’d only get one major pimple in a month.) So I added the VMV Id Clarifying and Firming Toner and Aftershave in my regimen.

The moment I read the product description on the website, I was sold:

An anti-acne, skin-softening toner with a healthy concentration of beta-hydroxy acid, an effective anti-acne and anti-inflammatory, oil-soluble exfoliant.

Because salicylic acid is oil-soluble, it works at your skin’s most sebum-rich areas: the pores’ inner walls. There, it gives pores a profound spring cleaning: removing deep-seated dirt and excess oils.

Firms up skin and tightens pores. Actively clears up acne, ingrown hair, chicken skin, shaving/waxing/plucking bumps, and other forms of folliculitis. Quickly lessens swelling and dries up pimples.

So contrary to my earlier belief, salicylic acid does work for me after all. I have been using this for two years now and not once I’ve had a huge pimple 🙂 If ever I do get small ones on a blue corn moon, they’re too minute that they never bother me.

Since I had solved that, I now began focusing on my other problems. Primarily, my wrinkles, lol.

I knew I became an adult not when I moved out of the family house, not when I got promoted at work, but when I saw those first few faint lines on my forehead. Months later, a permanent line had squatted at the corner under my left eye. At this point, I knew my Pond’s cream was not going to cut it anymore. (It was also at this point that I waxed sentimental about Pond’s. I had been using it for 14 years after all.) So I switched to the non-fuss Oil of Olay, a product which my friend’s mother, who looks 20 years younger than her actual age, swears by.

I actually tried Olay shortly after my acne years but after a week’s usage, I began having breakouts so I immediately stopped. It was also too oily for me then, too. But now that my skin has gone from oily to normal (another ‘you know you’re old when…’ moment) and with my VMV toner, Olay has worked quite nicely. I’d like to think it has made my skin look dewy. I like that it has SPF 15 and protects me from both UVA (ageing) and UVB (sunburn) rays––that’s actually the main reason why I use this product; sunscreen is very important! I’ve been protecting myself from the sun for 14 years and counting. I’m not sure if this has kept me younger-looking through these years, although people who do meet me for the first time think I’m younger than my actual age. But then again, I’m Asian.

When I bought Olay, it came with a free facial cleanser. I tried it, it didn’t give me breakouts, so I switched to it too. Also, I feel it’s gentler on my skin compared to Pond’s since with the latter, my face would literally feel squeaky clean after using it. With the Olay cleanser, my skin feels moisturized.

Another concern I’m targeting are the dark spots, which I only began addressing over a month ago with the VMV Illuminants cream, the latest addition to my regimen. It’s still too early for me to make a judgement on this because I’m still at the thrice-a-week usage stage. (With most VMV treatment products, you need start with once-a-week usage and gradually increase from there, before you top up to everyday usage.) But so far, there’s a general fairness in my skin that lasts the entire day (usually the morning after I went to bed with the product). Although I haven’t received any compliments yet on such changes; until then, I won’t say the results have been noticeable.

Now, the only remaining facial nproblem I have which I know no product can ever solve are my eyebags. They’ve gone Nene Pimentel. Before, whenever I had them, I’d usually just get eight hours of sleep and the next day, they’re gone! Now, I’ve even tried sleeping nine hours everyday for one week, and still they’re there. If you’ve tried a product that have at least, minimized your puffy eyes, then let me know. I’m afraid I can’t rock them like Benecio del Toro does 😛

8 thoughts on “My new arsenal: sunscreen and moisturizers are my must-haves

  1. Deepa says:

    I'm an Olay girl too! *APIR* Thanks to my husband, of all people, since he worked for Olay. I've been using it for about 7 years now. I also started out feeling it was too rich; that faded eventually, and now that I live in a drier climate, it's perfect. Drinking lots of water may help with the eyebags. I notice puffiness only when I get less than my usual 8-10 glasses a day. If not, see if you can find Skin Doctors (an Aussie brand) eye cream, which I found in Singapore. I tried it for dark circles (they have creams for puffy eyes and wrinkles too) and it was pretty effective. Haha, I remember my high school classmates and I washing our faces with Safeguard for that ultimate "squeaky clean" (a.k.a. tight and dry) feeling. Oh, the skin of youth!

    Like

  2. Deepa says:

    P.S. I also loved the Olay Regenerist eye cream, but I think that was for dark circles. I'm using Shiseido now but will switch back to Olay Regenerist after this bottle. You may want to check it out anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

