Food review: Yaku Japanese Grill

Served with compliments from Yaku: crispy dilis

For this post, I took my friends to task and asked them to review what they ordered. (By the way, I love my friends so much; they’ve really been supportive in my food blogging, lol. I mean, seriously. These days, whenever we dine out, they are careful not to dig in to their food until I’ve snapped a photo of it. They even make sure to place the dish in front of me so I can take a proper picture. I’m truly touched.)

Their comments also prove what I’ve said all along about being a food critic: it is darn hard. I have never published a food review because to me, what else is there really to say? It’s either good or bad. So when friends kept saying “masarap!” I’d lightly admonish them and in turn, they’d be more generous in their description πŸ™‚ They know their food! They even have points of comparison as you’d note in some of the dishes below.

My guest photographers for this post are the awesome Jill and Giff. Let’s get started!

California temaki, P89

Pam described it as “perfect” and liked it that it was generous in the crab stick and fish eggs. While Giff found it okay, he noted that Seryna’s was much better because it uses crunchier seaweed. Pam agreed but argued that the temaki there is three times the price of Yaku’s.

Tatin, upon seeing my notes: “It’s spelled S-E-R-Y…”

Tamago sushi, P65.
Lele: “I like eggs, so it’s good” before giving it a thumbs-up sign.
Beef gyudon, P199
Photo: Giff
Giff: “Beef is overcooked; it should be easy to tear apart.”

  

Ebi tempura, P249.
Photo: Jill

Pam: “Sarap (yummy); it’s served super hot and crunchy.”

Kawa, P69.
Photo: Jill

“This is the reason why I returned here,” Pam says about the kawa, which is chicken skin yakitori. “The skin is not too fatty and it’s thin so it’s crisp.” I wholeheartedly agree. This was the only dish I got to try and the chicken skin is so perfectly cut and grilled, it actually felt like it just naturally melted in my mouth.

Jill’s dish was more elaborate. She ordered the zaru soba (P169), a dish which she learned about from Mich, who is based in Japan, and which she later appreciated. This is a cold soba garnished with nori seaweed. Taking a bite, Jill exclaimed that it was “Oishii ne!” or delicious.

One thing’s for sure, the quail egg is so pretty.

You may have soba, which uses buckwheat noodles, as substitute for rice.

At Yaku, it comes with this cute little quail egg.
It is also served with a dipping sauce, shown here with the yolk from the quail egg. What you do is take some noodles and swirl it here before eating it. 
Zoba photos: Jill

Yaku Japanese Grill

3/F, The Podium Mall
12 ADB Ave, Ortigas Center
Mandaluyong City, Philippines
+63 2 687 5368

Leave a Reply

