Film review: The Dark Knight Rises

  • With all that terrific buildup, I was seriously afraid of what Bane might do to Gotham. And when it unraveled, I was like, “Um, okay.”
  • Highlight to view: [Spolier] Granted the idea of an atomic bomb is scary, but come on, we’ve seen that before many, many times. [/Spoiler]
  • I guess it didn’t help that a few hours before watching the film, I saw 30 minutes of A Clockwork Orange. Thirty minutes because it was too terrifying and heavy I had to stop the video, switch to cable TV, and find the happiest program I could find that very minute. (I ended up with Kimchi Chronicles.) Also, Heath Ledger as Joker: that was disturbing.
  • Not to take anything away from Tom Hardy’s Bane: He did give me the creeps. I feared him up until [Spoiler] he broke Batman’s back, [/Spoiler] and then afterward, with the clichés piling on, he began to be a caricature of his own character.
  • Anne Hathaway, I’m a fan. I liked Selina Kyle, at least until [Spoiler] you used your cat ears as goggles. Until then, you seemed like a real person to me. [/Spoiler]
  • I guess I loved the premise of the first two hours of the film (it runs 2 hours, 45 minutes). [Spoiler] I really couldn’t get behind the nuclear bomb plot; that was such an easy way out. Come on, Nolan, you wrote Inception. [/Spoiler]
  • Also, I may not be a spinal surgeon, pero naman, lubid?! (Seriously, a rope?) And in five months? (Here’s an actual doctor’s point of view on that particular storyline in the comics version.)
  • I know these are all fictional but Christopher Nolan has treated the Batman franchise very seriously, hence my arguments. There’s a reason why Anne Hathaway doesn’t purr in this film.
  • Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, and Joseph Levitt Gordon’s characters were nicely written from start to finish.
  • Hans Zimmer, good job. Toward the end, it was only his music that kept me nervously riveted to my seat.

Rating: 8/10

One thought on “Film review: The Dark Knight Rises

Leave a Reply

