Lee Min Ho still needs to learn how to beso-beso

I met Gu Jun-pyo (Lee Min Ho) yesterday! (Yes, to me, he’s still the Boys Over Flowers actor :-P) It’s funny because before, I used to make fun of his character on the TV show. (“Um, why would you allow yourself to be bullied by a guy with permed bangs?”) Then I finally decided to give his show a chance, and before I knew it, I was hooked and swooning over him.

Boys Over Flowers is the Korean version of Meteor Garden, which is the Taiwanese version of what is originally a Japanese manga. It’s the story of four ultra rich boys (as in they whisk their ladies on a whim to um, New Caledonia on a private jet) who lord it over an exclusive high school. Joon Pyo is their leader and it’s easy to hate him at first, but then of course, as you’d expect, he has a change of heart and then becomes charming.

What I didn’t expect was that I’d eventually meet the actor in person.

Under the glare of camera flashes, Lee Min Ho greets his fans.

Shortly before his press conference, I had the chance to have a private interview with him. Since I was a fanboy, I was a little jittery, which Jill and Pam both noticed when we met up at the lobby of Shangri-La Makati. In my defense, I had two cups of coffee before the interviewβ€”then a mango martini, in my hope to calm my nerves. (Of course, that didn’t work.) But I’m really good at pretending not to gush or swoon over guys so I’d like to think I was at my most professional when I did finally get to sit down with him. Unfortunately, I can’t say anything about the interview until the article gets published aside from he was quite animated despite having to do the interview practically straight from the airport. I wish he could speak English thoughβ€”it was funny how he’d look and smile at me while answering my questions and I was nodding my head like “Yeah” when of course, I wasn’t understanding a single thing he was saying, lol. (Sam Oh, who I’m also a fan of, translated for us.)

After posing for photos for Jill, he was immediately whisked away to Rizal Ballroom for the press conference, which he was already late to because his delayed flight pushed back his schedule.

I was then able film snippets of that event, including the failed beso-beso with Sam, lol:

On his first Philippines visit and on having so many fans:

2 thoughts on “Lee Min Ho still needs to learn how to beso-beso

Leave a Reply

