Francis

I tried my best not to like the new Pope. After all, I told myself, what could possible change? The leadership may vary but the Catholic Church’s dogma will remain.

And then, his first move: He named himself Francis, a name I’ve always had an affinity for, after the saint of Assisi. Francis is what would have been my name, if only a neighbor didn’t beat my parents to it. I was born on his feast day and have always joked that I was born on World Animal Day.

And then, his second move: His interview on the plane after World Youth Day. (“If a homosexual person is of good will and is in search of God, I am no one to judge.”) While I was touched by his words, I still kept it to myself because I knew that among the Church’s vanguards, the Pope is more an exception than the rule. And true enough, days later, a US Archbishop was already foaming at the mouth. (“Pope was ‘on a high’ during gay remarks.”)

And then, his latest: “When God looks at a gay person, does he endorse the existence of this person with love, or reject and condemn this person? We must always consider the person.”

I hope the ripples turn into waves.

Leave a Reply

