A booklover’s birthday surprise

I only had one request to friends for my birthday: I told them to please not give me any gifts. They’ve done so much for me and my family in the last few months that I feel they pretty much have a free pass on birthdays and Christmas gifts for the rest of my life.

Of course, telling them this request is in itself a challenge: you presume that they are indeed giving you a present. When I told them this, their reaction was that I was a feelingera and assumptionista, lol.

Hence, I was surprised when, at the end of my birthday dinner at Village Tavern (where they refused to let me pay), Pam handed me this beautifully wrapped present. They said it was from the four of them: Giff, Jill, Pam, and Tatin. I heaved a sigh of relief because upon touching it, I knew it was a book; I was glad my friends didn’t spend much on my gift (or at least, I hoped it wasn’t some first-edition title). I was excited to know what title they got me, so to keep the suspense, I first read their letters.

image

When it was finally time, I unwrapped the gift, and this is the book that they got me.

Oh… it’s a… um, management book.

image

I’m a person who’s pretty honest with his opinions––it’s hard for me to lace them with niceties if unwarranted. While I appreciated my friends’ gift, I couldn’t get why they got me a management book because it was so not me. And one of the many things I love about my friends is that they know me so well–their gifts always reflected that.

With a grin still plastered on my face, all I could blurt out was, “Sino nakaisip na management book?*smile*. No one answered.  I wanted more clues so I opened the book, and upon scanning the pages, I was immediately taken to this section:

image

No waaaaaay!!!! It’s a Kobo!

For two weeks now, Tatin and Pam have been raving about the Kobo. Pam is even short of becoming addicted to it: she has spent hours and hours reading books on the device, up until the wee hours of the morning. And now, they gave me one!

So once again, they had me with their gift-wrapping skills. After all, these are my friends we are talking about. (See, A zombie-themed Christmas gift-wrapping contest.

I was also close to getting teary eyed because my friends have been so good to me. (And I think I had the worst birthday surprise reaction ever because I was admonishing them for the present, lol.) I couldn’t thank them enough. I shouldn’t have doubted them; as with their past presents, they do know me too well. In fact, Tatin loaded my Kobo with titles I’m excited to read: The Finish: The Killing of Osama Bin Laden; Carrie; Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth; and others by Stephen King, Dave Sedaris, and Harold Robbins (haha). On my first day alone, I was already halfway through Ellen Degeneres’s Seriously… I’m Kidding.

Ever since I got the iPad, I’ve been remiss in my One Book a Month goal. Hopefully, my Kobo renews my diligence in reading as much books as I can.

Again, thank you!!!

2 thoughts on “A booklover’s birthday surprise

Leave a Reply

