Review: Village Tavern

We arrived at 5pm on a Friday. I expected the place to be deserted, yet, there were a few couples, families, and solo diners that had a head start with their meals.

I would've liked the Tavern to be this dark.

I would’ve liked the Tavern to be this dark.

The decor looked like a pub, though too brightly lit, in my opinion. The kitchen is open for everyone to see, except I had my back to it so I didn’t see any action. I liked the restrooms, or at least, the one for gents. I won’t go into details because we’re talking about food here, but know that the room is well-fitted and stocked.

The staff was pleasant. They didn’t ingratiate themselves; nevertheless, they were attentive enough to refill our water and drinks without prompting.

Tavern 2

Tavern 3

Homemade Jalapeño Poppers
P350
Breaded cream cheese and bacon stuffed jalapeño peppers

Prior to this meal, my friends were raving about the jalapeño poppers, so that was the first we ordered. (It would be my first time at Village Tavern.) While I did like its kick, my friends were almost apologetic: it was too spicy this time and that they couldn’t taste enough cheese.

Tavern 4

Tavern
P475
Homemade tomato sauce, pepperoni, mushrooms, green peppers, hamburger, onions, and mozzarella cheese

Tatin was more complimentary of the flatbread. While I did like it as well, I couldn’t get over the (hint of) strange smell I was getting from it. I suspect it was from the board it was served on–the smell of wood that hasn’t properly dried yet. According to the menu, Tavern’s made-from-scratch flatbreads are “all-natural and 100-percent whole wheat flour” and baked in a coal-fired oven.

Chorizo and Goat Cheese Rolls P285 Crisp rolls stuffed with Spanish chorizo and goat cheese served with chipotle sauce

Chorizo and Goat Cheese Rolls
P285
Crisp rolls stuffed with Spanish chorizo and goat cheese served with chipotle sauce

Among the appetizers, the chorizo was the biggest hit for me, though at this point of our (so far) satisfying meal, I began to question if we were getting good value for our money; the dishes were pricey.

For my entrée, I got the pork tenderloin which was okay but nothing to sing about. The combination also felt like they were put together at random–the cream and the mashed potato were rich; the chutney sweet; and the beans, salty.

Maple Cured Pork Tenderloin P625 Served with homemade apple chutney, garlic mashed potatoes and fresh seasonal vegetables

Maple Cured Pork Tenderloin
P625
Served with homemade apple chutney, garlic mashed potatoes and fresh seasonal vegetables

Tatin managed to finish only half of her braised beef and, at the end of our meal, told the staff that the meat was dry. We weren’t billed for it.

Braised Beef P550 Slow braised short plate of beef with red wine jus and served with choice of rice pilaf or mashed potato

Braised Beef
P550
Slow braised short plate of beef with red wine jus and served with choice of rice pilaf or mashed potato

I thought the plating could also use more excitement 🙂 Our other orders:

Crispy Chicken Tacos P475 Chicken tenders with mango slaw and chipotle sauce, served with black beans and rice pilaf

Crispy Chicken Tacos
P475
Chicken tenders with mango slaw and chipotle sauce, served with black beans and rice pilaf

Ten Spice Glazed Salmon P595 Ten spice glazed Atlantic salmon with rice pilaf, broccoli, red pepper and roasted almonds

Ten Spice Glazed Salmon
P595
Ten spice glazed Atlantic salmon with rice pilaf, broccoli, red pepper and roasted almonds

Snapper Hemingway P550 Fresh fillet of snapper sauteed with white wine, lemon, tomatoes, and capers, served over angel hair pasta

Snapper Hemingway
P550
Fresh fillet of snapper sautéed with white wine, lemon, tomatoes, and capers, served over angel hair pasta

Sangrias were half off, so we got both the red (merlot, orange juice, pineapple juice, vodka, brandy) and white (chardonnay, dalandan juice, vodka, maraschino cherry). Now, these drinks put a smile to my face 🙂 Thank you, bartender! If you have to choose one, go with the white as it tastes more refreshing.

The zesty white sangria

The zesty white sangria

I would have tried their cheesecake, but my friends brought a cake from Conti’s. The staff was (again) nice not to have given us trouble for bringing dessert from outside, and even provided us with a cake knife, together with a dessert setting, of course.

I wish this restaurant well, if only for its people. There’s almost a palpable unsureness in its dishes, particularly in the case of the pork tenderloin, and apparently, in the jalapeño poppers, as its taste differed from my friends’ first try. I also find the prices prohibitive–a drawback which I’m sure competitors would be quick to pounce on.

Village Tavern
2/F Bonifacio High Street Central,
7th Ave, Taguig City

http://www.villagetavern.com
http://www.facebook.com/VillageTavernPhilippines
+63 2 621 3245

3 thoughts on “Review: Village Tavern

Leave a Reply

