‘The Real Dirt on Face Washing’

In my younger years (ha!), I tried to embrace my oily skin by justifying that it would help me in the long run. Oily skin = moisturized skin, and from articles I’ve read, it would help stave off wrinkles as I age. I learned to love my greasy face!

Well, what do you know? Early this year, I woke up to discover that I now have dry skin. My usual regimen was no longer working: washing my face twice a day and using a toner, even with Olay Cream at the end, was irritating my skin and it began to look and feel scaly.

I basically had to unlearn everything I’ve trained myself to do, a regimen I’ve honed and perfected since my acne-riddled teenage years. I had to re-adjust to my skin needs.

First to go was the foamy facial cleanser. I used to hate cleansers like Cetaphil because I felt it didn’t clean my face enough. I had the misconception that having a bubbly cleanser rid my face of every dirt. Now, I’m using this Canadian brand, Spectro Jel which is similar to Cetaphil; I’m sure Cetaphil would work fine, but I get Spectro for free thanks to generous balikbayan relatives, yay!

Second to go was… gasp the morning wash! For someone who was traumatized by acne and therefore got obsessed with that squeaky clean feeling, it was initially hard for me to just use water. During my first few ‘tryouts’ I was afraid I’d start having bad skin again. Thankfully, that never happened.

Hence, it was with relief that I read this article, The Real Dirt on Face Washing, on Wall Street Journal:

“Face washing at night is most important, dermatologists say. It removes dirt, grime and pollutants that have gathered on the skin during the day, as well as makeup. Some doctors say people without a serious skin-care issue, such as acne, can skip the soap and just rinse in the morning.

“Your skin has just slept on a pillow, it is clean, it doesn’t necessarily need to be washed,” said Gervaise Gerstner, a Manhattan dermatologist and consultant for L’Oréal Paris. Dry skin from overcleansing is a problem for people as they age, she says…

“Many Americans, especially teens, prefer cleansers that foam or create suds. “They like the sensation,” says Cindy Kee, senior brand manager at Cetaphil, a line of gentle skin-care products, both foaming and nonfoaming, from Galderma Laboratories. People also tend to believe foam cleans better, which it doesn’t.”

I’ve retained my VMV Id Toner though, which I’ve already blogged about, just so I’m assured my face is clean before going to bed. (And apparently, based on my first entry on VMV, I’ve been using the toner for more than 3 years now!)

Speaking of VMV, I recently replenished my stock and–surprise, surprise!–I got a free bottle of their… okay, this is a tongue twister–Skintangible “Faint”Ation Skin-Refining Non-Makeup SPF30 (Purse-Proportioned Edition). I’m a huge fan of BB Creams, so this was such a treat!

IMG_4250

IMG_4275

It was also my first time to try their online delivery. More on the BB Cream and their delivery service in my next post!

Leave a Reply

