Our annual Christmas gift-wrapping contest: Circus theme

Last year, I blogged for the first time about my friends’ Christmas gift-wrapping contest. Yes, aside from the stress of having to cross out stuff from our respective recipient’s wish lists, we’ve collectively decided to make the weeks leading to Christmas even more arduous, haha!

Thankfully, Pam, who won last year and therefore, had a say on our theme this year made things easier. Last year, Jill assigned us a Halloween theme, and as you would note from my blog entry, my friends brought out the crazy, enough for me to question their emotional stability, lol. This year, I actually got excited when Pam emailed us the theme: circus!

Love, love, love it! I had just finished reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, and in the novel, which is set in Victorian London, two young protégés outdo each other in the circus by making the most beautiful magical tents and acts. There were ice gardens, cloud mazes, and parties bathed in glitters and golden light.

I was so inspired! I knew my gift would be the grandest of all. I’d upload a pic on Instagram and it would go viral! Ellen would guest me! Martha Stewart would call! OhmygodImtotallyaweeeesooome!!!

Then this happened:

Anyare? Lol.

As in earlier years, I had all these ideas in my head but had trouble executing 😛 so I ended up with a vintage playing card theme. I didn’t want to do a super obvious reference to circus: I even thought of doing a Happy Meal because Happy Meal equals McDonald’s equals clown, lol.

So for the nth time, I stuck with 2D wrapping.

My friends, as always, didn’t disappoint.

1

Tatin made a cute magician’s hat, complete with stuffing like this super adorable rabbit:

Nel constructed this awesome circus tent mounted on a cork board (The general reaction: Sooosyal!!! Mahal ang cork board! LOL.)

3

As if that wasn’t enough, when you open the tent, you’ll find a circus ring inside!

What’s ingenious about this is that he was actually able to incorporate the gifts into the ring! The hand cream became the ringmaster’s body, the makeup palette became the lion cage, and the tape dispenser as one of the other circus attractions!

Pam didn’t really have to exert any effort being the host of the competition, and yet… and yet…

6Kaboooogerra!!! (General reaction: Ooooooh!!! Ganda ng box!!!)

I really thought it was clever how her recipient, Gia, turned into a clown as she went through the trunk!

This was actually more painstakingly detailed and inventive than what meets the eye. Here’s Pam’s detailed explanation:

For this year's gift-wrapping contest, I gave my secret santa baby @aphro0650 the traveling trunk of Giggles Leroy, the world's first female clown. The trunk comes with Giggles' shoes, wig, nose, makeup kit, clown props, flyers from her shows, photos, letters and postcards from her friends and family and a diary chronicling her transition from Amelia Johnson to her clown persona Giggles Leroy. I had so much fun working on the letters and the diary (and aging them!) – I included details on how Amelia got the trunk and her clown costume and the sweet story behind her clown shoes. I loved how the items on Gia's wish list merged seamlessly with my concept – I hid her Havaianas wedges inside the clown shoes and the MAC powder and lipstick inside Giggles' makeup kit. Fun! Can't wait for next year's contest!

A post shared by Pam Pastor (@pajammy) on

“For this year’s gift-wrapping contest, I gave my secret santa baby @aphro0650 the traveling trunk of Giggles Leroy, the world’s first female clown. The trunk comes with Giggles’ shoes, wig, nose, makeup kit, clown props, flyers from her shows, photos, letters and postcards from her friends and family and a diary chronicling her transition from Amelia Johnson to her clown persona Giggles Leroy. I had so much fun working on the letters and the diary (and aging them!) – I included details on how Amelia got the trunk and her clown costume and the sweet story behind her clown shoes. I loved how the items on Gia’s wish list merged seamlessly with my concept – I hid her Havaianas wedges inside the clown shoes and the MAC powder and lipstick inside Giggles’ makeup kit. Fun! Can’t wait for next year’s contest!”

Just so out-of-this-world original!

Gia, who flew in fresh from Malaysia, gave this cute and playful box also inspired by circus tent and animals. It had these small pastel balloons inside, too.

Lele, who is always chic in my book had a different take on the circus tent. And living up to her style, it was very classy!

10

I liked how it had a Japanese origami feel to it.

Eto naman po yung kay Jolo. Mema! (Lol, kidding.) Well, he’s one half our Christmas balikbayans, so sige, may excuse 🙂

11

Giff was also inspired by a circus tent and made one out of satin–it was very rich-looking! It also had a ring inside and there were even bleachers!

And now, for this year’s winner. We hold our party at Jill’s house. When we arrived at her place, I pretty much knew she had it in the bag when I saw the decorations. The entrance sign specifically didn’t bode well as far as our winning chances were concerned:

“Juice ko, may time pa sya mag-decorate, pa’no pa yung sa gift wrap?” I told Tatin.

Jill later admitted that intimidating us was the point, lol.

O, eh di ikaw na!

The thing was massive as the base was made out of hula hoop. Inside, there was a circus ring replete with a trapeze, ring of fire, and circus animals. As if those weren’t enough, they actually glowed: she placed several glow sticks inside.

There was no consensus needed as Jill had this hands down, hmp.

So once again, Jill will dictate next year’s theme. Since she’s won two of three contests, we’ve made a rule that whoever wins three times will be inducted into the hall of fame, lol.

20

‘Til next year! 😀

 

__________

Photos by: Pam and Jill; blurry shots and .GIFs (made awesome by Google+) are mine.

3 thoughts on “Our annual Christmas gift-wrapping contest: Circus theme

Leave a Reply

