Jambi reunion

In April of this year, I will be celebrating a decade in my job. Until now, I get mixed emotions knowing that I entered it when I was only 23 years old.

Before, my friends and I used to occupy almost three tables at the office canteen; but now, due to global economic slump as well as my friends’ own decision to fork over a new leaf, we’ve dwindled to two. I chided them recently: if this was Survivor, we are down to the last episode.

Most of my friends are editors, and I am proud to say that they are some of the best I know in the business. Most of them are mothers too–some are around the same age as my mother when she had me—and I’ve learned so much from our lunch talks. I didn’t think it possible, but I’ve appreciated Ma even more, thanks to them.

Leave a Reply

