I’m on a Harold Robbins kind of high

She opened her eyes and slowly turned her face downward. Suddenly her eyes stopped and her breath caught. “I will die,” she said, “it will reach into me and stab my heart.”

 

I’m re-reading The Adventurers. I cannot remember the story at all—everything reads new to me… except those scenes.

* * * *

It was my first year high school teacher who introduced me to Harold Robbins. At that time, no one in our all-boy class has heard of him. “Really?” she asked incredulously as she flicked her tongue in reptilian fashion at a classmate, to riotous laughter.

I still remember their names: the teacher and her poor victim.

 

 

One thought on “I’m on a Harold Robbins kind of high

Leave a Reply

