Winsor & Newton field box review

I got a sketch notebook for Christmas and so I thought I’d give it a spin by using it as a watercolor journal. It’s been weeks, probably months, since I last did some serious, painstaking work and I figured this will be a good way to get back in the saddle. Also, I’ve always preferred loose paintings, so hopefully, this will also help me develop the style, since I plan to reserve this notebook for quick sketches.

For my first entry, I decided to do a snapshot review of the Winsor & Newton field box, a watercolor tool which easily fits my palm. (There are mobile phones larger than this, seriously.) I love it, even though I haven’t taken it outside for a spin.

 

Winsor & Newton field box

Focused on its utilitarian merits versus an actual paint review since I’m still trying to get the hang of things, but as you can see above, there is little granulation, if any, and good transparency. It’s just not as bright as I hoped, though my paintings normally look better in person than in photos (#ehdiwow, lol), so it’s not as washed out as it looks in the picture. Also, since I’m a cheapskate, I tend to dilute the paint with too much water for more coverage. Still, I would highly recommend this tool box for its ingenuity.

Leave a Reply

