My 2015 National Costume For Philippines

(Each year, I try to re-imagine the national costume for Miss Philippines at Miss Universe. So far, I’ve done the carrozzababaylan, parol, palaspas, People Power, and Philippine jeepney.)

I’m late this year!

I actually have two national costumes designs in mind and which I’ve been going back and forth on, when Pia Wurtzbach herself inspired me to do a third one instead.

But before that, let me just say that I mean no disrespect–I think Albert Andrada’s national costume was simple divine and definitely one of the best we’ve had in years. (And may I dare say, the best by a Filipino designer in the history of the contest.)

Such beautiful textures and details

Such beautiful textures and details

I hope that we continue to patronize local designers from now on and that we never look back.

Second, some friends have pointed out the similarity between the jeepney costume that I designed in 2009 and the tuktuk costume that made Thailand win this year. I think that’s really funny. 😀

 

(Binibining Pilipinas, call me, haha.)

Anyway, so here’s what I did this year. Inspired by Pia’s Celia Rodriguez-approved ‘smizing,’ which can truly inspire fear among starlets and hatred among pageant ‘clappers,’ I thought why not celebrate the Philippines best villainess’ of all time:

V A L E N T I N A

 

Valentina national costume for Miss Universe

Valentina national costume for Miss Universe

I reimagined Valentina as a Manila Carnival Queen, which I felt would be perfect for Miss Universe. My illustration can definitely use A LOT more help (this was a really quick sketch), but I would really love it if we can be more adventurous in our costumes and I see this made and paraded on the Miss Universe stage. No one has done it–not even Greece (!), with their Medusa and a slew of other mythological inspirations.

One thought on “My 2015 National Costume For Philippines

Leave a Reply

